Tag - impact of brexit on architecture

Brexit Letter to Theresa May

  Piers Taylor of Invisible Studio organised an open letter to the British Prime Minister outlining the potential consequences of Brexit on the UK architecture industry. This letter and selected signatories are below:

Dear Prime Minister

Architecture is an international industry where cooperation across borders is critical to the success of our practices. Much of our work is pan-European, and many of our staff are from the EU. Figures suggest that 1 in 5 architects in the UK are from the EU, and 1 in 3 in London. We thrive on this sense of being part of an international community, and have – as a culture – benefitted immeasurably from the freedom of movement that has enabled many European architects to contribute to the enormous success that is British Architecture. We believe that without being members of the EU this success would not have been possible. We are concerned that unless we are members of the EU with the free movement of ideas and people that this brings, the culture within which we practice architecture in Britain will be immeasurably diminished. At present, under proposed immigration rules, your definition of a skilled worker excludes almost all of those who come here to work in our industry. For us, instead of being an opportunity, this is devastating.

We believe that there is no good Brexit. We also believe that the 48% of the votes cast in the last referendum have been ignored. When you talk of the ‘Will of the People’, you are not taking into account that almost half of all votes cast were to remain, and polls show that in the period since the referendum many of those who voted leave have changed their mind. With this, we do not see within any of your negotiation with the EU any consideration whatsoever of the circumstances that we need for our industry and associated institutions to continue to thrive.

Yours faithfully

Lord Norman Foster – Foster & Partners

Lord Richard Rogers – Rogers Stirk Harbour

Sir David Chipperfield – David Chipperfield Architects

Spencer de Grey – Foster & Partners

Steve Tompkins – Haworth Tompkins

Niall McLaughlin – Niall McLaughlin Architects

Cindy Walters – Walters & Cohen

Gianni Botsford – Gianni Botsford Architects

Koen Steemers – University of Cambridge

Steven Bates – Sergison Bates

Peter St John – Caruso St John

Paul Monaghan – Allford Hall Monaghan & Morris

Ted Cullinan – Cullinan Studio

Kate Goodwin – Royal Academy

Harriet Harriss – RCA

Sophie Twohig – Hopkins Architects

Robin Nicholson – Cullinan Studio

Daniel Rosbottom – DRDH

Graham Haworth – Haworth Tompkins

Bob Allies – Allies & Morrison

Gerard Maccreanor – Maccreanor Lavington

Jeremy Till – Head, Central St Martins – University of the Arts London

Jo Wright – Arup Associates

Simon Usher – MUMA

Dean Hawkes – University of Cambridge

Toby Johnson – Haworth Tompkins

Peter Oborn – Peter Oborn Associates

Robert Mull – Professor of Architecture, University of Brighton

Martin Gledhill – University of Bath

Glenn Howells – Glenn Howells

Roger Watts – Haworth Tompkins

Chris Fellner – Haworth Tompkins

Joe Kerr – Syracuse University

David Lloyd Jones – Herbert & Partners

Hannah Durham – Cullinan Studio

Stephen Taylor – Stephen Taylor Architects

Dr Tom Holbrook – 5thStudio

Ffion Stephenson – University of Sheffield

Roddy Langmuir – Cullinan Associates

Russell Curtis – RCKa Architects

Simon Henley – Henley Hale Brown

Piers Taylor – Invisible Studio

Alan Stanton – Stanton Williams

Andrew Grant – Grant Associates

Meredith Bowles – Mole Architects

Joe Morris – Morris & Co

Peter Clegg – Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

David Howarth – DRDH Architects

Paul King – Sheffield Hallam University

Damian Field – Damian Field Architects

Joe Giddings – Architect

Nicola Du Pisanie – Stonewood Design

Jeremy Poulter – Jeremy Poulter Architects

Christopher Daniel – Polysemic

Anna Gibb – Anna Gibb Architects

Chris Boyce – Assorted Skills & Talents

Victoria Simpson – DLG Architects

Paul Testa – Paul Testa Architects

Barbara Kaucky – Erect Architetcure

Susanne Tutsch – Erect Architecture

Fergus Feilden – Feilden Fowles

Stephen Hodder – Hodder Associates

Niall Maxwell – Rural Office for Architecture

Keith Williams – Keith Williams Architects

Tom McGlynn – Niall Mclaughlin Architects

Marcus Adams – JTP Architects

Angus Morrogh Ryan – De Matos Ryan Architects

William Haggard – Carver Haggard Architects

Rob Wells – BD Landscape Architects

Thomas Bryans – IF_DO Architects

David Ayre – Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt

Pete Swift – P-IE

Sasha Edmonds – LIV Architects

Magnus Strom – Strom Architects

Bob Ghosh – K4

Pierre Wassenaar – Architect

Madeleine Kessler – Haptic Architects

Gayle Appleyard – Gagarin Studio

Anna Gibb – Allies and Morrison

Tom Goldthorpe – Hodder & Partners

Nick Riley – Whittam & Cox Architects

Marc Dix – LT Studio

Nicky Robinson – LT Studio

Dinah Bornat – ZCD Studios

Cordula Weisser – ZCD Studios

Alison Brooks – Alison Brooks Architects

Anthony Thiselton-Smith – Waugh Thisleton

Andrew Waugh – Waugh Thiselton

Patrick Lynch – Lynch Architects

Claudia Lynch – Lynch Arhcitects

Zara Bloomfield – Studio Bloom

Maria Prieto Moreno – PDP London

Harriet Bourne – BBUK

Roland Karthaus – Matter Architecture

Jay Morton – Bell Phillips

Robin Webster – Cameron Webster

Tim Bell – Bell Phillips

Barbara Weiss – Barbara Weiss Architects

Alex Wilford – Bell Phillips

Tom Ebdon – Head of School, Falmouth

Leila Westrope – RJA LLP

Paul Seamarks – Anderson Orr

Iacopo Sassi – Square One Architects

John Curry – Architect

Richard Portchmouth – BPR Architects

Ian McHugh – Green Triangle

Simon Foxell – The Architects Practice

Yasmin Shariff – Dennis Sharp Architects

Armin Ganguly – Ganguly Architects

Nick Simpson – Architect / Newcastle University

William Haggard – Carver Haggard

Robert Phillips – Cartwright Pickard

Paul Warwick – Architect

Michael Russum – BPR

Charles Thomson – Studio 54

Sarah Delaney – SL Design

Oliver Richards – ORMS

Andrew Morris – Senior Partner – Rogers Stirk Harbour

Darren Jones – Shed KM

Ruth Lang – CSM

Vincent Lacorava – Croydon Council

Paul Beatty Powell – BPR

Will Burges – 31/44

Chris Lamb – D:SE

Arita Morris: CGL UK

Ines Zaid – BGS Architects

Vasiliki Simeonidou – Architect

Wendy Perris – Pad Studio

Mark Marshall – Daykin Marshall

Philip Graham – Culinan Studio

Keir Regan Alexander – Morris & Co

Dave King – Shed KM

All 12 Partners: Rogers, Stirk Harbour

Plus many more not included here



Categories brexit Tags